Go Back   Sonic Youth Gossip > Non-Sonics
Reload this Page travel
Register FAQ Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 04.20.2006, 01:29 PM   #1
cheguevara6
empty page

cheguevara6 has tongues queuing up for a rim-festcheguevara6 has tongues queuing up for a rim-fest
Traveling

Hi, over the summer I am thinking of traveling across the u.s. Lived in Oregon my whole life, and want to see other places. Movies like Easy rider and midnight cowboy, and books by Kerouac describe my mindset. I am feeling as the character did in the song America “Kathy, I am lost though I knew she was sleeping, I am empty and aching and I don’t know why”.

I want to visit Berkeley, Haight, Madison etc…

I have limited funds, and want to stay in hostels and stuff, stay as cheaply as possible.

Unfortunatly I wanted to do the discovery pass on greyhound, 30 days unlimited bus trips, but that is 520 bucks.

Anyone have any tips for a traveler like me. This is my first time traveling across the u.s.

How do I live and stay cheaply at these places? Are there any hostels that are free?

How about food?

In all the movies I watch or books I read about the sixties, I feel I was born 40 years too late. If I was feleing lost, disillusioned and angry in the 60’s, I could just take off, and head for the haight and I would have a place to stay, thousands of kids were running away.

Now it seems harder, I feel uncomfortable trying to hitchhike, I worry, and it just seems so ridiculous, that it costs so much to travel these days.

I just want to get away, I am feeling upset and angry over the war, and how our world seems to be crumbling as we speak.

How does a hippie like me, survive for the summer on little to no money? Where does one find the cheapest food? Shelter?

How did the people in the 60’s do it?

How do you current hippies do it?
cheguevara6 is offline   |QUOTE AND REPLY|
Old 04.20.2006, 01:30 PM   #2
!@#$%!
invito al cielo