View Single Post
Old 06.13.2017, 10:19 AM   #11
Super Moderator
Moshe's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,579
Moshe kicks all y'all's assesMoshe kicks all y'all's assesMoshe kicks all y'all's assesMoshe kicks all y'all's assesMoshe kicks all y'all's assesMoshe kicks all y'all's assesMoshe kicks all y'all's assesMoshe kicks all y'all's assesMoshe kicks all y'all's assesMoshe kicks all y'all's assesMoshe kicks all y'all's asses
Lee Ranaldo has announced details of a brand new album, Electric Trim, out on 15 ‎September 2017, and embarks on a US tour in June.‎
‎ ‎
The nine-track album marks a return to the Mute family for Ranaldo, who says: “I’m so excited ‎about this record, it represents new developments and directions for me and I can’t wait ‎to hit the road and play this music live. I’m also so pleased to partner with Mute for this ‎release – it’s like a homecoming of sorts as Sonic Youth’s early records were released ‎on Blast First / Mute. To me Mute has always been a true artist’s label, concentrating ‎first and foremost on the music. I can’t wait for everyone to hear this music.”‎
Electric Trim was recorded in New York City and Barcelona in collaboration with producer Raül ‘Refree’ Fernandez ‎and extends the work of Ranaldo's solo canon, the most recent being his ‎‎2013 album, Last Night On Earth.‎
‎ ‎
Through his collaboration with Fernandez, Ranaldo moves into some rich new sonic territories and ‎production techniques, experimenting with electronic beats and samples alongside live players.‎
Listen to the first track, ‘Circular (Right As Rain)’, here:
Ranaldo is a co-founder of Sonic Youth, a visual artist, producer and writer. In addition to ‎Fernandez, he worked with several special guests on Electric Trim, including Sharon Van Etten who sings on six of the tracks and duets on ‘Last Looks’ and Kid Millions ‎(aka Man Forever) as well as longtime friend and collaborator Nels Cline (Wilco). In addition, the album ‎features Ranaldo’s band The Dust (fellow Sonic Youth member Steve Shelley, guitarist Alan Licht, and bassist Tim Lüntzel).‎
‎ ‎
Ranaldo collaborated with award winning New York author Jonathan Lethem (Motherless ‎Brooklyn / The Fortress of Solitude) for lyrics on six of the songs and the American artist, Richard ‎Prince, who previously painted the sleeve for Sonic Youth’s 2004 album Sonic Nurse, created the ‎artwork for the album.‎

Moroccan Mountains
Uncle Skeleton
Let’s Start Again
Last Looks (with Sharon Van Etten)‎
Circular (Right As Rain)‎
Electric Trim
Thrown Over The Wall
New Thing
‎ ‎
Lee Ranaldo – vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, keyboards, electronics, drums, marimba
Raül Refree – acoustic & electric guitars, keyboards, electronics and programming, bass, drums, ‎backing vocals
Sharon Van Etten - vocals
Alan Licht – electric guitar
Tim Luntzel - bajo
Nels Cline - electric guitar
Steve Shelley - drums
Kid Millions - drums
Xavi de la Salud - trumpets and flugelhorns
Cody Ranaldo – electronics
Mar Girona – backing vocals
‎ ‎
‎13 June - The Broadberry, Richmond, VA
‎15 June - 40 Watt Club, Athens, GA‎
‎17 June – Saturn, Birmingham, AL
‎18 June - Gasa Gasa, New Orleans, LA
‎19 June - White Oak Music Hall, Houston, TX
‎20 June - Sons of Hermann Hall, Dallas, TX
‎21 June - The North Door, Austin, TX
‎23 June - Proud Larry's, Oxford, MS
‎24 June - The Anchor Fellowship, Nashville, TN

Further dates to be added, for full details and ticket links, go to

A feature length documentary, HELLO HELLO HELLO : LEE RANALDO : ELECTRIC TRIM, on ‎the year-long making of the album by filmmaker Fred Riedel recently premiered at the Montclair ‎Film Festival, watch the trailer here:

Moshe is offline   |QUOTE AND REPLY|