Sonic Youth Gossip

Sonic Youth Gossip (
-   Non-Sonic Sounds (
-   -   Gate European tour, June - July 2009 (

whorefrost 03.28.2014 11:31 AM


blunderbuss 07.10.2019 12:46 AM

Los Angeles - this Sunday July 14th will see the U.S. premier of MICHAEL MORLEY’s MUSIC FOR THE NEVER QUARTET, an installation for a quartet of four bowed acoustic guitars- there will also be special performances by ELECTRIC SOUND BATH & CGRSM.

Afternoon, Dusk, Night
4:30pm - 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Human Resources Los Angeles
410 Cottage Home St, L.A. 90012
free and open to the public
Presented by Black Editions and Human Resources Los Angeles.

Michael Morley is a New Zealand based sound artist and visual artist. His work across a range of genre confirms his abilities as an artist, composer, improvisor, performer, and producer. Responsible for over 100 audio releases from 1985 to 2019 as: Gate, The Dead C, The Righteous Yeah, The Fuck Chairs, Sun Valley, and many other collaborations and solo recordings. The development of Music for The Never Quartet has come from a thirty year exploration of the guitar and of sound as art.

Music for The Never Quartet seeks to employ the resonating qualities of wooden acoustic guitars placed upon items of wooden furniture to reveal connections between time and space by sonically activating the instruments and the other wooden objects within architectural structures. Tonal drones are produced by acoustic guitars placed on the top of solid wooden furniture. The tones are generated in the guitars using electronic bows that are placed upon the steel guitar.

The installation will be activated for three 1-hour intervals. Between these intervals there will be special performances featuring:

ELECTRIC SOUND BATH LA based duo comprised of Ang Wilson (modular synthesizer, singing bowls) & Brian Griffith (bass guitar, electronics). Inspired by sound baths like the Integratron, ESB uses singing bowls, as well as electric instrumentation to create similarly dense wombs of sound that envelop the listener.
CGRSM is Christopher Reid Martin and Gabie Strong combine forces as CGRSM to create long form drone music, focusing on harmonic sensory inundations to render spirited body resonances. For this performance, the duo will play accordion and harmonium to explore the spatial conditions of vibrational acoustics.

rappard 07.10.2019 04:09 AM

European premiere 25 July in Rotterdam:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All content ©2006 Sonic Youth