Sonic Youth Gossip

Sonic Youth Gossip (http://www.sonicyouth.com/gossip/index.php)
-   Sonic Gossip (http://www.sonicyouth.com/gossip/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Goo... (http://www.sonicyouth.com/gossip/showthread.php?t=16234)

MysticalChicken 09.11.2007 04:58 PM

Goo...

just gets better and better every time I listen to it.

That is all.

Carry on.

I still need to buy Daydream Nation. I'll do that ASAP, but I'm low on money right now.

MysticalChicken 09.11.2007 06:46 PM

What do you mean, "weird joke"? Does that mean that my opinion is "wrong" in some way? It's my opinion. I posted in my intro post that I'm just getting into SY, and this is the only album I have by them so far, and there are a lot of CDs I have that I like better with each listen. Oh, and which CD are you referring to, anyway?

(If you want a weird joke, here's one:

What's the difference between a lobster and a muffin?

Purple, because ice cream has no bones.

I said it was weird. I didn't say it was funny.)

pbradley 09.12.2007 01:40 AM

Better than Dirty, I say.

king_buzzo 09.12.2007 02:25 AM

reassesing goo #2?

pbradley 09.12.2007 02:44 AM

Nope, just love.

pecking order 09.12.2007 03:18 AM

Goo has a great summery feel to it.

After all these years it's still up there :)

atsonicpark 09.12.2007 04:00 AM

Well.. uh.. we just all reassessed goo endlessly in another thread, but for some reason I found myself going back and listening to it 3 or 4 times after listening to it for that thread (I didn't do that with their other albums)... anyway.. my thoughts still stand.. good riffs, production sounds a bit muddy in places (Mary-Christ), GREAT drumming, a few real throwaway tracks (Friend Goo, Scooter, Mildred), sassy vocals/occassionally bad lyrics ("Hi-dee-ho" "Story of the jelly roll" "hello, Janis" haha), but the album has "Dirty boots" and "titanium Expose", by far and away two of SY's best songs... so... I dunno. If I were to rate it out of 10, I'd give it a 7. Sounds about right.