Sonic Youth Gossip

Sonic Youth Gossip (http://www.sonicyouth.com/gossip/index.php)
-   Non-Sonic Sounds (http://www.sonicyouth.com/gossip/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   thread for those who enjoy playing bass guitar over playing an electric guitar (http://www.sonicyouth.com/gossip/showthread.php?t=35515)

atsonicpark 10.28.2009 03:47 AM

thread for those who enjoy playing bass guitar over playing an electric guitar

BASSISTS - UNITE!

Lately, I've been playing bass more and more and I dunno. I'm really good at it, whereas I'm just an okay electric guitarist. I dunno why this is. But literally everything I play on it sounds cool, it's almost impossible not to sound cool playing bass, whereas electric guitar has just frustrated me lately. I like the simplicity of it, and I also like the low, ugly tones you can generate. Mmm. Bass.

Funny thing, it's my x-girlfriend's bass, her car was pakced up when she left and I told her I'd hold onto her bass for her, but I've fallen in love with it and don't want to give it back.

Glice 10.28.2009 04:23 AM

They're not real musicians, but some of them can just about manage to type indignation.

I always think it's a bit like when English people move to Australia when guitarists move to bass. Both parties tend to be quite humourless about my pointing out that each latter is a shitter version of the former.

atsonicpark 10.28.2009 04:47 AM

Funky, Glice.

chrome noise tape 10.28.2009 04:47 AM

yeah! bassists unite! - i also play bass and i love to play it...the sense of the low line and deep tone. simple but with a strong personality. the electric guitar it's cool in the way you have a more choice of "colour (sound)" and tunes...but the bass it's not so limited as many people think ( listen michael manring, that freak can do a lot things with only four strings, well he also plays with other tunes )
and it's more fun to improve ( rythm and melody ) in the bass than with a guitar.
my weapon...Fender Precision.