Sonic Youth Gossip

Sonic Youth Gossip (http://www.sonicyouth.com/gossip/index.php)
-   Non-Sonics (http://www.sonicyouth.com/gossip/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Best way to teach yourself another language? (http://www.sonicyouth.com/gossip/showthread.php?t=3507)

Sonic Youth 37 06.27.2006 11:06 PM

Best way to teach yourself another language?

I am an English speaker by birth, but I am becoming increasingly more interesting in different languages. I can already speak French a conversational level (ie enough to get around, have a basic conversation, the basics for life pretty much) and I have been studying it for 1 1/2 years.

I wanted to know if those of you that are bi/multi-lingual (I know that there are quite a few, if not dozens) had any tips for learning a new language. Any language is good, French would be great or any other European language. The Romances seem to be easier to pick up after knowing one of them fairly well.

Thanks in advance!

acousticrock87 06.27.2006 11:09 PM

I'm not bilingual yet, but I would say take a course then go to the country/region it's spoken. Preferably for at least a few months. Immersion is the only way to really learn the language, I think. But this is just from years of fruitless study of Japanese. I've never been, and thus do not speak/write/understand/read it very well at all. I've probably learned more Spanish just by being around it on occasion.

I've also tried to learn Latin, and it's way harder than Japanese. So I disagree about the Romances. I think it will be easier to learn a third language period.

Sonic Youth 37 06.27.2006 11:12 PM